h1

a half-assed attempt to win an award

February 15, 2010

So I’m entering my blog in a completely last-minute, half-assed attempt to win a Hive Award.  I’d like to think there is a trophy involved, but probably not. I just wanna feel cool at SXSW.

Lots of folks have expressed their love of a particular entry.

The “tumor registry” will be featured in a new book by the folks at Planet Cancer & Livestrong.

Lots of folks like the “vampire port/carpet cleaning” piece.

I’m a fan of the entry on hemorrhoids.

Please comment and let me know if you have any fav’s!

I think I need a catchy tag line as well. I’m thinking of: The Tumor Assassin’s Guide to a Catered Pity Party.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Ideas?

2 comments

  1. Dear Wine Diva:
    I am a nurse, a firefighter paramedic and mostly a fan. I have even been accused of being human an having a heart which is mostly false. Your blogs make me laugh and cry at the same time. I have been the nurse on the phone when the line gets back up with blood. I have helped treat the hemorrhoids with the cream that burns and numbs at the same time, and I am the guy who’s friend has bowel cancer, getting radiation and chemo is 31 years old and only wants to come back to work.
    I gave his wife and him your site to read. Tony messaged me the other day saying thank you. All I have to say is thanks for doing this.
    We all of the Cochranites are praying and keeping our fingers crossed. Keep blooging and send in the one about the roids it makes me almost pee in my pants.


  2. When I get particularly weepy and start to feel like nothing matters, I read your blog, or re-read some of your articles. I can’t hear the tears in your digital voice, I only hear the laughter at how weird life can be…especially when we’re handed (or are sitting on) a hemmorhoid. Lately it’s been hard for me to see the laughter in some of my everyday stuff — I have been so fatigued I can hardly get my mouth muscles to form a smile…but my daughter keeps reading me your blog and I realize, this woman can laugh even with all this going on…thanks for helping me keep my outlook positive. — Susie



Leave a Reply

