h1

designer and DIY hospital gowns

June 8, 2009

I  had a horrible creepy thought about hospital gowns. It occurred to me that people die wearing them. And my guess is that the dead people gowns just get washed and thrown back into the mix. Eeeeeewwwww. So, I went in search of snappy fun and decidedly less death tainted hospital gear.

Indeed, there are tons of folks who make super cute, if not overly precious, hospital gowns for preggers gals. Etsy is filled with such things, and they come with a hefty price tag. But, how bout us gals who aren’t knocked up and flush with cash?

RasperryBee makes nice ones with designer prints from Lily Pulitzer, but be preparedto shell out $70-$100 + shipping. Here’s another site that makes fun gowns in a variety of patterns, suitable for men and women, with lots of stuff that would make your Grandpa or outdoorsy Dad smile. And each one comes with a matching surgical cap. Still pretty pricey though.

So, I was delighted to find LazyGirlDesigns who offer a FREE pattern that you can download to make your own fun sick bay gear.

Luckily, I have a great friend who is also a kick ass costume designer and masterful self-proclaimed “Stitch Bitch”. She graciously offered to craft a few for me and took me to a local fabric store to pick out some fun prints and funky buttons. Here’s one:shoesfabric

 

Super cute, right?

Total cost per gown for me in super cute fabric, including all supplies? About $20. Not including the nice bottle of wine I intend to buy for my sewing superstar.

Now to round up some matching slipper socks and hair ties. Everyone else on my floor is gonna be poppin Ativan by the handful to deal with their feelings of jealousy and admiration of my snappy sick duds. Yeah, baby….

One comment

  1. Aw — I was gonna knit you one, girl! Glad you found an amazingly cute solution fast… x o



Leave a Reply

