h1

World Series of Cancer: Extra Innings… or Does this liver make me look fat?

May 13, 2009

It seems that my showdown with the big C will need to go to extra innings. The two pesky dots on my liver just won’t go away and my doc thinks they’ve overstayed their welcome. I agree. After much scanning, scoping, and conferring, the “tumor board” at NMH says surgery is the way to go. So, they plan to “resect” (this means cut out the bad parts) the tumors in my liver and possibly even give a few suspicious looking spots a little zap of radiation or laser while they’re in there. I’m not sure if this will be a laproscopic procedure or a new scar to add to my collection just yet. I meet with the special liver surgeon guy on the 20th to get all the details and schedule my next stay at Hotel Prentice.
 
For added fun, my gall bladder appears to be unhappy and may be liberated at the same time as the intruders to my liver. Luckily, you don’t much need a gall bladder and I hear that the liver can pretty much grow back if you snip it right. All in all, I’m much happier to be having surgery than another round of chemo or radiation. Plus, I’ve collected a bundle of those footie socks with treads on them in all sorts of fashion colors. Now I have a place to wear them.

Leave a Reply

