h1

Almost on Oprah. Dude. OPRAH.

February 27, 2009

I was almost on Oprah.

Dude.
Oprah!

I feel like I saw the greatest spotlight in the world, got my pinky toe just barely in the light, and WHAM. Lights out. Alas, it was not meant to be.

Oprah’s producers contacted Gilda’s Club in Chicago to look for people to be interviewed and taped for a cancer diagnosis and reactions feature. They totally recommended me and asked if it would be OK if they gave the Oprah crew my contact info. (ala Wayne’s World) SHHHYEEEAAAAHH!

I compulsively watched my phone for an hour or so, secretly hoping I would get a ring from the great lady herself. I know the idea is preposterous, but still – how cool?!!?
Dude.
Oprah!

My phone jingled its new agey tune (still haven’t figured out how to change the ring tone) and my heart sailed into my esophagus. It was Gilda’s Club again. They just wanted to let me know that the show had a production meeting and decided not to do the taped interviews.
insert cartoon sadness sound effect
(whaaahhh whahhh whaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh)

Poo. I was already dreaming about a new camera friendly outfit.

However! She told me that the production staff informed her that they already had my information. My blog was already on their radar for cancer patients and survivors!

Sooooo….maybe someday, SOME DAY I’ll get to meet the great Oprah Winfrey.
Dude.
Oprah.

One comment

  1. I LOVE your blog! You are hilarious! Trust me, you are inspiring SO MANY PEOPLE without being on Oprah. You don’t need Oprah! You are cool on your own. Although yeah, I guess that would be cool.

    Someday Oprah is going to be sitting by her phone waiting for YOU to call HER!!!



Leave a Reply

